Chairperson: Rich Bettini, Assoc. AIA

The Architects League of Northern New Jersey Scholarships are funded jointly through our fundraising efforts and the AIA Component Scholarship Grant, which in 2015 provided $1,000 toward these scholarships.

NOTE: The application period for our 2015 Scholarship Program has ended.  The 2015 Scholarship Winners are:  

Architects League Scholastic Achievement Award:
Tony Giard, Sussex, NJ – New Jersey Institute of Technology

High School Scholarship Awards:
Alexander Mount, Old Tappan, NJ – Northern Valley Regional High School/Pratt Institute
Jonathan Mazur, Wood-Ridge, NJ – Wood-Ridge High School/Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Congratulations to our scholarship recipients!

Please check back next year for 2016 Applications & Details.

For High School Seniors-

One scholarship of up to $2,000 may be awarded.  Eligibility:  High School Seniors who live or attend high school in our geographic territory (Bergen, Hudson, Passaic & Sussex Counties) and have been accepted to an NAAB Accredited Architecture Program at a college in the United States or U.S. Territory.

2015 High School Senior Architectural Scholarship Application
Please read this document for complete eligibility requirements.  Deadline for submission:  April 30, 2015.

For College Students-

2015 Call for Submissions
Please read this document for complete eligibility requirements.
2015 Scholarship Application
Applicants: Please fill out this form and include with your submission. Deadline:  April 30, 2015

All applications must be submitted to:

ALNNJ Scholarship Committee
c/o Rich Bettini, Associate AIA 

305 Hancock Court 
Edgewater, NJ 07020

Award Amounts:
The total awards money for the architectural scholarships for college students is $6,000 maximum. All awards are given at the committee’s discretion and amounts can vary. A check is mailed to the winner’s school. Therefore, only returning students of accredited Architecture Schools are eligible. Not sure your architecture school is accredited? Go to to find out.

Applicants must reside in one the following New Jersey counties:
(click image at right to enlarge)

Bergen County
Hudson County
Passaic County

Sussex County

We sincerely apologize to those students who do not permanently reside in our section’s territory and are not eligible. However, if you live outside of these counties, are a New Jersey resident and would like to apply for other AIA scholarships please visit to for more information.

Clarence Tabor Memorial Scholarship Award
Given to undergraduate students entering their fifth and final year of their undergraduate architectural program, and is based on scholastic excellence, attitude toward the profession, probable success as an architect, and need for financial assistance.

Albert O. Halse Memorial Award
Given to undergraduate students for excellence in architectural delineation and/or architectural models.

Architects League Scholastic Achievement Award
Given to undergraduate & graduate students for scholastic excellence in architectural design.

For information on Clarence Tabor and Albert Halse, click here.

2015 Scholarship Winners
2014 Scholarship Winners
2013 Scholarship Winners
2012 Scholarship Winners
2011 Scholarship Winners

SPONSORSHIP OPPORTUNITIES:  Find out how you can support the ALNNJ Scholarships by participating in our annual ALNNJ Golf Outing.
The League also welcomes Scholarship Award Dinner sponsorships.  Click here for more information.

AIA Diversity Statement:  “Diversity is a cultural ethos embraced by AIA membership to foster inclusion, service and a quality of life in celebration of all communities in our society.  This is regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, national origin, religion, physical ability, sexual orientation or identity, age, geography, intellectual or practice area.”